printable versionPrint this page

East Arnhem Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Aboriginal Community Council | Local Government
Place:East Arnhemland
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
The East Arnhem Shire Council was established 1st July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particular community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). The previous community government areas of Ramingining, Milingimbi, Galiwinku, Angurungu, Milyakburra, Gapuwiyak, Umbakumba, Yirrkala, Dhanbul, and Marngarr were amalgamated with the East Arnhem Shire Council.
Detailed Information:
The objective of the Shire is 'to act as a representative, informed and responsible decision maker in the interest of its constituency; exercising and carrying out the powers and functions of local government assigned to the Council under the Local Government Act (NT) 2008' (Shire website).

The Shire has 14 elected members with 6 Wards which are the Anindilyakwa, Birr Rawarrang, Gumurr Gattjirrk, Gumurr Marthakal, Gumurr Miwatj, and Gumurr Miyarrka Wards (Shire website).

Related Entries

  • Groote Eylandt Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) (Stage 2) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Gapuwiyak Community Council Incorporated
  • Galiwin'ku Community Council
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Milyakburra Community
  • Gapuwiyak Community

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal Community Council (Australia) | Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey