Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Lily Hole Creek Community Living Area Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)

Date: 18 November 2009
Sub Category:Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) (Native Title Act)
Place:Lily Hole Creek, McArthur
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
The agreement area covers approximately 200 hectares and is situated on the Beetaloo Perpetual Pastoral Lease, east of the Stuart Highway. The agreement area comprises land in NT Portion 6774. It falls within the jurisdiction of the Barkly Shire.
Legal Status: Registered with the National Native Title Tribunal on the Register of Indigenous Land Use Agreements on 3 March 2010. This is an Area Agreement under the Native Title Act 1993 (Cth).
Legal Reference: National Native Title Tribunal File No.:DI2009/001
Subject Matter: | Land Planning | Land Use | Native Title
Summary Information:
The Lily Hole Creek Community Living Area Indigenous Land Use Agreement(ILUA) was agreed between the Northern Land Council, the Northern Territory of Australia and Philip Ulamari and Pompey Raymond on behalf of the following native title claimant groups: The Daly Waters families, Turrutpa, Murranji, Jarrimanu, Yijiparta, Karntularra, Kulaja, Beetaloo John and Wilyuku Peoples.

The purpose of the ILUA is to obtain consent from the Land Council for the grant of an estate in fee simple to the above claimant groups for the development of a community living area. This transfer is to occur in accordance with provisions of Part 8 of the Pastoral Land Act 1992 (Northern Territory) and section 46(1A) of the Lands Acquisition Act 1978 (Northern Territory). This requires a grant to be made following approval from the Minister for Planning and Lands and notice of this approval in the Government Gazette.

The ILUA also acknowledges that the rights to negotiate do not apply to the proposed action.
Detailed Information:
Following the signing of the ILUA, the agreement area was excised from the Beetaloo Perpetual Pastoral Lease and acquired by the Northern Territory Government. An estate in fee simple over that land was then transferred to the Lily Hole Creek Aboriginal Corporation, which was formed pursuant to section 46(1A) of the Lands Acquisition Act 1978 (Northern Territory).

Related Entries

  • Northern Land Council - Signatory
  • Northern Territory of Australia - Signatory
  • Legislation
  • Native Title Act 1993 (Cth)
  • Pastoral Land Act 1992 (NT)
  • Lands Acquisition Act 1978 (NT)
  • People
  • Philip Ulamari - Signatory
  • Pompey Raymond - Signatory
  • Case Law
  • King v Northern Territory of Australia [2007] FCA 1498

  • Google
    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey