printable versionPrint this page

New Mapoon Community Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Aboriginal Community Council
Place:Northern Peninsula of Cape York
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Summary Information:
New Mapoon is one of the five communities of the Northern Peninsula Area of Cape York Peninsula. In 1984, the State of Queensland established a system of community level land trusts, to own and administer former reserves under a special form of title called a Deed of Grant in Trust (DOGIT). In 1986 the community of Hope Vale became the first to receive a DOGIT and formed the Hope Vale Aboriginal Council. Each trust area became a local government area. Incorporated Aboriginal Councils, which elected representatives every three years, manage the community's affairs. The Councils are able to make by-laws, appoint community police and are responsible for maintaining housing, infrastructure, the Community Development Employment Program (similar to 'work for the dole' whereby recipients of government unemployment benefits are required to undertake prescribed work related activities), licenses and hunting and camping permits.

Related Entries

  • Comalco Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) (Western Cape Communities Co-existence Agreement) - Signatory
  • Northern Peninsula Area Infrastructure Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Ely Bauxite Mining Project Agreement - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Hopevale Aboriginal Council
  • Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council

  • References

    Resource Section
    Aboriginal Co-ordinating Council (2002) New Mapoon Community & Council


    Aboriginal Community Council (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey