printable versionPrint this page

Arakwal State Recreation Area Agreement

Date: 3 April 1997
Sub Category:Memorandum of Understanding
Place:Byron Bay
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Subject Matter:Access | Cultural Heritage | Economic Development | Environmental Heritage | Land Use | Native Title
Summary Information:
Twelve months of negotiations between the Arakwal people, the New South Wales State Government and the Byron Bay Shire resulted in an agreement over a new recreation area in the popular tourist area of Byron Bay.
Detailed Information:
Arakwal sisters Lorna Kelly, Linda Vidler and Yvonne Graham secured a say in the management of the new park when the agreement was signed on 3 April 1997.

As proclaimed by the then New South Wales Environment Minister Pam Allen and Minister for Land and Water Conservation Kim Yeadon, the agreement provides that the Arakwal People have a say in the management of the new State Recreation Area at Byron Bay. In addition to the agreement with the State to recognise the interests of the Arakwal in the recreation area, the Arakwal have endorsed principles to underpin an agreement with Byron Shire Council. As a result of the agreement the Arakwal will have a position on the Trust set up to manage the new park and their traditional rights and interests in the area will be respected. At the time the Arakwal endeavoured to enter the next stage of negotiations aimed at setting up an interpretive centre to attract cultural tourism to Byron Bay.

This agreement follows on from another reached in 1997 between the Arakwal people and the Byron Shire Council with the Shire recognising the Arakwal as the traditional owners of the region. The agreement also precedes the 2001 Native Title Consent Determination involving the Arakwal People of the Bunjalung Nation and the NSW Aboriginal Land Council, NSW Minister for Land and Water Conservation and Telstra Limited (FC: NG6088/98; NNTT: NC97/36), and the 2001 Arakwal Indigenous Land Use Agreement.

Related Entries

  • Byron Shire-Arakwal People Heads of Agreement
  • Kelly on behalf of the Byron Bay Bundjalung People v NSW Aboriginal Land Council [2001] FCA 1479 (23 October 2001)
  • Bundjalung of Byron Bay (Arakwal) Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Byron Shire-Arakwal People Memorandum of Understanding
  • Organisation
  • Cape Byron State Recreation Area Trust
  • State of New South Wales - Signatory
  • Arakwal Aboriginal Corporation
  • People
  • Lorna Kelly and Linda Vidler on behalf of the Byron Bay Bundjalung People - Signatory
  • Minister for Land and Water Conservation (New South Wales)
  • Minister for the Environment (New South Wales)
  • Arakwal People - Signatory
  • Place
  • Cape Byron Headland Reserve

  • References

    Media Release
    National Native Title Tribunal (1998) 'Byron Shire - Arakwal People Agreement: A Step Forward for NSW'
    Wildsite Ecological Services (2002) Cape Byron Headland Reserve Plan of Management
    National Indigenous Working Group (1998) Fact Sheet: 'Development Agreements on Native Title Lands Win-Win Solutions'


    Memorandum of Understanding

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey