printable versionPrint this page

Victoria Daly Regional Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
The Victoria Daly Regional Council was established 1 July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particularly community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). The previous communities government councils of Daguragu, Pine Creek, Timber Creek, Nganmarriyanga, Thamarrurr, Walangeri Ngumpinku, Peppimenarti and Nauiyu Nambiyu were all amalgamated with the Victoria Daly Shire.
Detailed Information:
The Victoria Daly Regional Council consists of 12 elected Councillors exercising local government functions over 168,277 square kilometres of land. It comprises eight communities to the north-west of the Katherine region in the Northern Territory. These communities include Timber Creek, Yarrlin, Pigeon Hole and Kalkarindji/Daguragu in the west, and Pine Creek, Daly River, Peppimenarti, Palumpa and Wadeye in the north.

The Shire is one of six partners involved in the Tanami Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA), which is intended to provide improved education, training and employment opportunities to the Warlpiri people of the Tanami Desert region.

Related Entries

  • Tanami Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) - Signatory
  • Kalkarindji Township Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Japalyi v Northern Territory of Australia [2014] FCA 421
  • Doojum CLA NT Portion 4984 Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Project Sea Dragon Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Dodd (Vincent) on behalf of the members of Jamangku, Japuwuny, Parlakuna-Palkinykarni and Yilyilyimawu landholding groups v Northern Territory of Australia [2020] FCA 1279
  • Coleman on behalf of the Wagiman and Jawoyn Bolmo, Matjba and Wurrkbarbar Groups v Northern Territory of Australia [2019] FCA 477
  • Ryan on behalf of the members of the Central Limbunya, Nawurlala, Parayi-Kakaru and Tjutamalin landholding groups v Northern Territory of Australia [2020] FCA 1283
  • Kneebone Community Living Area Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Organisation
  • Thamarrurr Regional Council
  • Nauiyu Nambiyu Community Government Council
  • Daguragu Community Government Council
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Daguragu and Kalkaringi Indigenous Communities
  • Peppimenarti Indigenous Community - Previous
  • Nauiyu Nambiyu Indigenous Community

  • Glossary

    Local Government | Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey