printable versionPrint this page

Stanwell Corporation Limited

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 1997
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Stanwell Corporation Limited is based in Brisbane, but its operations are located throughout the state of Queensland.
Subject Matter:Mining and Minerals | Oil and Gas
Detailed Information:
Stanwell Corporation Limited is Queensland's main power generator, and is owned by the Queensland government. It was formed on 1 July 1997 under the Government Owned Corporations Act 1993 (Qld), and registered under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth).

Due to a restructure of Queensland's government-owned generators, from 1 July 2011 the Stanwell Corporation portfolio has included the Tarong and Tarong North power stations, as well as the Meandu Mine in the South Burnett region (transferred from Tarong Energy). It also includes the Swanbank B and Swanbank E power stations near Ipswich, and the Mica Creek Power Station in north-west Queensland (transferred from CS Energy).

Stanwell Corporation's largest operating site is the Stanwell Power Station near Rockhampton. For the purposes of this power station, Stanwell Corporation has signed the Durambal Stony Creek Indigenous Land Use Agreement (National Native Title Tribunal File No. QI2010/038) with the representatives of the Darumbal native title claims.

Related Entries

  • Darumbal Stony Creek Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • State of Queensland - Owner

  • Google
    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey