printable versionPrint this page

Roper Gulf Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
The Roper Gulf Shire Council was established 1 July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particular community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). The Roper Gulf Shire Council is responsible for the previous community government areas of Borroloola, Numbulwar Numburindi, Nyirranggulung Mardrulk Ngadberre, Yugul Mangi, Mataranka Community, Jilkminggan and a large area of currently unincorporated land, the Gulf, Roper Valley, Sturt Plateau and Southern Arnhem Land (Shire Website).
Detailed Information:
The Shire consists of 12 elected Councillors and is responsible for the delivery of a broad and unique range of services to their communities, with different communities within the Shire having their own different priorities (Shire website).

Related Entries

  • Roberts on behalf of the Najig and the Guyanggan Nganawirdbird Groups v Northern Territory of Australia (No 3) [2012] FCA 223 (Town of Mataranka)
  • Wavehill v Northern Territory of Australia [2013] FCA 1086
  • Morgan v Northern Territory of Australia [2013] FCA 1078
  • Wavehill (on behalf of the Wubalawun Group) v Northern Territory of Australia [2018] FCA 1602
  • Dixon on behalf of the Narrwan and Badpa Estate Groups v Northern Territory of Australia [2020] FCA 1545
  • Fulton on behalf of the Mambali Amaling Gan, Murungun Igalumba, Murungun Milgawirri, Budal Yuwaran and Guyal Bardi Bardi Dumnyun Ngatanyana Estate Groups v Northern Territory of Australia [2020] FCA 1271
  • Organisation
  • Nyirranggulung Mardrulk Ngadberre Regional Council
  • Mataranka Community Government
  • Borroloola Community Council
  • Roper Gulf Regional Council - Formerly known as
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Borroloola Indigenous Community
  • Place
  • Borroloola

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal Community Council (Australia) | Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey