printable versionPrint this page

Wagait Shire

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Wagait Beach is on the Cox Peninsula, west of Darwin
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
The Wagait Shire was established 1st July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particularly community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). Consequently, the Cox Peninsula community government council became the Wagait Shire.

Related Entries

  • Cox Peninsula Community Government Council
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey