printable versionPrint this page

Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978 (Cth)

Category: Legislation
Binomial Name: Australian Commonwealth Government
Sub Category:Legislation
Summary Information:
The Northern Territory (Self Government) Act 1978 established the Northern Territory of Australia as a body politic under the Crown. The Act extended the powers to of self-government in the Territory and provided for a Legislative Assembly. The Act provided for the appointment of an Administrator of the Territory by the Governor-General. The Administrator was charged with the duty of administering the government of the Territory.

The Act provided for an Executive Council consisting of the Ministers of the Northern Territory Government. The Executive Council's function was to advise the Administrator in relation to matters in respect of which the Ministers of the Territory have executive authority under the Act and Regulations.

The Act gave the Territory limited state-like powers. The major state powers retained by the Commonwealth in the Northern Territory include Aboriginal land rights, the mining of uranium and other prescribed substances, industrial relations and control of Commonwealth national parks. The Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act accorded the Administrator and Governor-general the right to withhold assent and to recommend amendments to proposed Northern Territory laws.

For inter-governmental financial purposes the Northern Territory has been regarded by the Commonwealth as a State since 1 July 1988.

Related Entries

  • Northern Territory of Australia
  • Commonwealth of Australia
  • Legislation
  • Aboriginal Land Act 1992 (NT)
  • Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (Cth)

  • References

    Commonwealth of Australia (1978) Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey