printable versionPrint this page

Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Domadgee Aboriginal Shire
State/Country:Queensland, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
Covering an area of 186,300 hectares, Doomadgee is a Deed of Grant in Trust (DOGIT) Community. It is situated within the Burke Shire but is governed by the Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council. Doomadgee is approximately 100 kilometres North West of Burketown and 130 kilometres East of the Northern Territory Border. It is 630 kilometres by road to Mt Isa and 1035 kilometres west of Cairns. The Population is 1289 based on the 2011 Census. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people make up 91.9% of the population.

Many of the residents of Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire are Traditional Owners of the lands in the region. The traditional homelands of The Gangalidda and the Waanyi people lie in and around the Doomadgee Shire. There are also Garrawa and Yunjulla people and a range of people from Indigenous nations across Australia have made Doomadgee their home.

The original Mission, known as 'Old Doomadgee' was established in 1931 close to the coast of the Gulf of Carpentaria. Following a cyclone the mission was moved to its current site on the Nicholson River in 1936. In July 2010 under the Local Government Act 2009 the Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council was established. The Council is represented by a Mayor and 4 Councillors who are elected every 4 years.

Related Entries

  • Taylor on behalf of the Gangalidda and Garawa Peoples #2 v State of Queensland [2015] FCA 730 - Respondent
  • Rockland on behalf of the Waanyi People v State of Queensland [2021] FCA 1139 - Respondent

  • Google
    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey