printable versionPrint this page

Financial Assistance Agreement

Sub Category:Template Agreement | Funding Agreement
Subject Matter:Environmental Heritage | Cultural Heritage
Summary Information:
A Financial Assistance Agreement is a standard (template) Agreement intended to be entered into between the Commonwealth Department of Environment and Heritage, and Indigenous communities, Land Councils or other Indigenous bodies. Financial assistance is made available to those Indigenous communities, Councils or bodies for the establishment and management of protected areas, on Aboriginal land, under the Indigenous Protected Areas Program. Funding is through the Natural Heritage Trust and is approved by the Minister under Section 20 of the Natural Heritage Trust of Australia Act 1997.

A Financial Assistance Agreement is a short-term agreement providing for funding on a yearly basis. However, under the Commonwealth Environmental Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999, the Minister could enter into a Conservation Agreement that could provide a mechanism for a long-term land use agreement to be developed.
Detailed Information:
Under the Financial Assistance Agreement, an Indigenous funded organisation must augment that funding given through the Natural Heritage Trust from other sources. The Agreement provides for accountability on the part of the Indigenous funded organisation in relation to the use, management and acquittal of funds; performance of the project; and the provision of progress reports. The Agreement also covers, amongst other matters: the right of the Indigenous organisation to control culturally sensitive material for the purposes of the project; disclosure of confidential information; indemnification of the Commonwealth for acts of the funded organisation; termination, suspension and recovery of funds; animal ethics; and dispute resolution.

Related Entries

  • Deen Maar Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Dhimurru Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Guanaba Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Mount Chappell Island Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Badger Island Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Nantawarrina Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Oyster Cove Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Paraku Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Preminghana Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Risdon Cove Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Warul Kawa (Deliverance Island) Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Watarru Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Walalkara Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Wattleridge Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Yalata Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Angus Downs Joint Management Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Lajamanu Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Natural Heritage Trust
  • Department of the Environment and Heritage (Cth)
  • Legislation
  • Natural Heritage Trust of Australia Act 1997 (Cth)
  • Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (Cth)
  • Place
  • Deen Maar Indigenous Protected Area
  • Dhimurru Indigenous Protected Area
  • Guanaba Indigenous Protected Area
  • Mount Chappell Island Indigenous Protected Area
  • Badger Island Indigenous Protected Area
  • Nantawarrina Indigenous Protected Area
  • Oyster Cove Indigenous Protected Area
  • Paraku Indigenous Protected Area
  • Preminghana Indigenous Protected Area
  • Risdon Cove Indigenous Protected Area
  • Warul Kawa Indigenous Protected Area
  • Watarru Indigenous Protected Area
  • Walalkara Indigenous Protected Area
  • Wattleridge Indigenous Protected Area
  • Yalata Indigenous Protected Area
  • Toogimbie Indigenous Protected Area
  • Ngaanyatjarra Indigenous Protected Area
  • Mount Willoughby Indigenous Protected Area
  • Tyrendarra Indigenous Protected Area
  • Policy/Strategy
  • National Reserve System Program

  • Glossary

    Indigenous Protected Areas Programme (Australia) | Funding Agreement | Template Agreement

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey