printable versionPrint this page

Department of the Environment and Heritage (Cth)

Category: Organisation
Binomial Name: Australian Commonwealth Government
Sub Category:Federal Government
Alternative Names:
  • DEH
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    The Department of the Environment and Heritage (DEH) advises the Commonwealth Government on policies and programs for the protection and conservation of the environment, including both natural and cultural heritage places. It manages a number of major programs. The most significant of those dealing with natural resource management come under the umbrella of the Natural Heritage Trust and the National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality. Both the Trust and National Action Plan are administered jointly with Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry - Australia.

    DEH works with Australian business organisations and industrial sectors, the community and other levels of government to protect Australia's atmosphere and to improve the environmental performance of Australian industry. It is concerned with the conservation and appreciation of Australia's natural and cultural heritage places.

    DEH administers environmental laws, including the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 and a range of other Acts. It is responsible for Australia's participation in a number of international environmental agreements.

    DEH is currently known as the Department of Environment and Water Resources(DEWR).

    Related Entries

  • Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Conservation Template Agreement
  • Deen Maar Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Dhimurru Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Guanaba Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Mount Chappell Island Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Badger Island Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Nantawarrina Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Oyster Cove Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Paraku Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Preminghana Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Risdon Cove Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Warul Kawa (Deliverance Island) Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Watarru Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Walalkara Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Wattleridge Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Yalata Financial Assistance Agreement - Signatory
  • Lajamanu Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Dhimurru Section 73 Agreement - Signatory
  • ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement - Signatory
  • Memorandum of Understanding between Indigenous Land Corporation and Department of the Environment and Heritage - Signatory
  • Wet Tropics Regional Agreement - Signatory
  • Woppaburra 'Woppaburra' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Surat 'Surat - Culture' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Mitchell 'Sharing the Community's Cultural History' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Daguragu 'Heritage and Tourism' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Raukkan 'Restoring the Historic Church' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Tumut 'Heritage, Healthy Living and Stronger Families' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Walalkara 'Mentoring (Malpa) Support - Walalkara Women's Land Management ' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Metro Adelaide ‘Cultural Exchange’ Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • Natural Heritage Trust
  • World Conservation Union
  • Commonwealth of Australia
  • Ngarang Wal Land Council - Collaborator
  • Indigenous Protected Area Advisory Group
  • Indigenous Advisory Committee
  • National Oceans Office
  • Department of Environment and Water Resources (Cth)
  • Department of Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts (DEWHA) (Cth) - Formerly known as
  • Event
  • Dhimurru Land Management Aboriginal Corporation Indigenous Protected Area Management Plan
  • Kakadu National Park Plan of Management
  • Legislation
  • Natural Heritage Trust of Australia Act 1997 (Cth)
  • Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (Cth)
  • People
  • Minister for the Environment and Heritage (Commonwealth)
  • Place
  • Angus Downs Joint Management Indigenous Protected Area
  • Northern Tanami Indigenous Protected Area
  • Kakadu National Park
  • Ngaanyatjarra Indigenous Protected Area
  • Mount Willoughby Indigenous Protected Area
  • Tyrendarra Indigenous Protected Area
  • Toogimbie Indigenous Protected Area
  • Policy/Strategy
  • National Reserve System Program

  • References

    Council of Australian Governments (2004) ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement


    Federal Government | Indigenous Protected Areas Programme (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey