printable versionPrint this page

Newcastle City Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:
Newcastle is Australia's sixth largest city and is located 160 kms from Sydney in the Hunter region of New South Wales. The population consists of approximately 137,000 people. The City Council consists of the elected Council and the administration. The Council is composed of 12 councillors and the Lord Mayor who is elected for a four year term. The Newcastle Local Government Area is divided into four wards, with three councillors assigned to each. Councillors are required to participate in the determination of the budget, and assist in the development and review of Council policies and regulatory functions. The Council is also required to review its performance as well as the delivery of services, management plans and revenue policies.

Related Entries

  • Guraki Committee
  • Event
  • Draft Statement of Commitment to Indigenous Australians by Newcastle City Council - Signatory
  • Commitment by Newcastle City Council to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples of the City of Newcastle - Signatory
  • Case Law
  • Awabakal Local Aboriginal Land Council v Attorney General of New South Wales [2020] FCA 1507

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey