printable versionPrint this page

Nillumbik Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Eastern suburbs of Melbourne
State/Country:Victoria, Australia
Summary Information:
On 15 December 1994 most of the former municipalities of Diamond Valley and Eltham, and parts of the Healesville and Whittlesea Shires were drawn together to create Nillumbik Shire.

The new Shire comprised a mix of landscapes, land uses, and people. These were united by common bonds including concern for the protection of the natural environment, respect for the cultural heritage of the district and a strong sense of community.

Nillumbik Shire is located 25 kilometres north-east of Melbourne with the southern boundary being formed by the Yarra River. The Shire covers an area of 430 square kilometres and has an estimated population of 58,160. The major townships are Eltham, Diamond Creek and Hurstbridge.

Related Entries

  • Aboriginal Recognition Working Group
  • Nillumbik Reconciliation Group
  • Event
  • Statement of Commitment to Indigenous Peoples by the Cities of Banyule, Manningham, Whitehorse and Shire of Nillumbik - Signatory
  • Nillumbik Shire Council Apology and Commitment to Aboriginal Reconciliation - Signatory

  • References

    Nillumbik Shire Council Nillumbik Shire Council Apology and Commitment to Aboriginal Reconciliation


    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey