printable versionPrint this page

Ballina Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Place:Ballina, northern NSW
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information:
Ballina Shire is located on the New South Wales far north coast. It is approximately two hours south of Brisbane and a nine hour drive north of Sydney. The Shire is in a rural coastal locality with a temperate to sub-tropical climate. It covers an area of 487 square kilometres and has an approximate population of 40,000 people.

The Council provides a range of services including local roads, garbage collection, buildings, parks and libraries, and youth, planning and environment services.

The Council was formed as a result of the amalgamation of the Ballina Municipal and Tintenbar Shire Councils.

Related Entries

  • Local Agreement between the Cowra Shire Council and Cowra Indigenous People
  • Cavanbah (Byron Bay) Arakwal Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Organisation
  • Jali Local Aboriginal Land Council

  • Glossary

    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey