Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Tumut Indigenous Community

Category: People
Sub Category:Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
State/Country:New South Wales, Australia
Summary Information: MOU between Tumut Shire Council and the Aboriginal community(s) in the shire.
There were 10,800 residents in the Tumut Shire Council area as of 2006, of whom approximately 350 (3.3%) identified as Indigenous. The shire covers a part of the territory of the Wiradjuri people. The Aboriginal Community of Tumut Shire and Tumut Shire Council signed a Memorandum of Understanding in 2006, acknowledging the importance of the presence and cultural heritage of the Aboriginal community as the first people of the area and the Wiradjuri people in particular as the Traditional Owners in accordance with Aboriginal law, expressing sorrow and compassion for the pain and suffering experienced by Aboriginal people as the result of past laws, policies and activities of governments of the Commonwealth of Australia, endorsing the Draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous People of 1993 and the work and objectives of the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation, and committing to adopt and promote policies and programs which are non-discriminatory and recognise the needs of the Aboriginal community.

Related Entries

  • Tumut 'Heritage, Healthy Living and Stronger Families' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Tumut Brungle Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)
  • Tumut 'Bila Park Cultural Heritage Project' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Organisation
  • Tumut Brungle Local Aboriginal Land Council

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey