Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 (NZ)

Category: Legislation
Sub Category:Legislation
State/Country:Aotearoa - New Zealand
Summary Information:
The Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 is an Act to provide for the observance, and confirmation, of the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi by establishing a Tribunal to make recommendations on claims relating to the practical application of the Treaty and to determine whether certain matters are inconsistent with the principles of the Treaty.
Originally, the Act was limited to claims arising from 1975, but this restriction was amended in 1985 to increase its jurisdiction to include investigation and reporting on historic claims back to 1840.

Related Entries

  • Treaty of Waitangi
  • Te Uri o Hau Deed of Settlement
  • Pouakani Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Ruanui Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay Of Plenty) Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Awa Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Tama Deed of Settlement
  • Ngati Mutunga Deed of Settlement
  • Te Arawa (Lakes) Deed of Settlement
  • Ngāti Apa (North Island) Deed of Settlement
  • Organisation
  • Waitangi Tribunal
  • New Zealand Government
  • Event
  • Declaration of Independence of New Zealand
  • Legislation
  • Treaty of Waitangi (Fisheries Claims) Settlement Act 1992 (NZ)

  • References

    New Zealand Government (1975) Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey