Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

North Eastern Tasmania COAG Trial

Category: Policy/Strategy
Sub Category:Policy/Strategy
State/Country:Tasmania, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • Tasmanian COAG Indigenous Communities' Coordination Trial
  • Summary Information:
    The North Eastern Tasmania COAG Trial Site is one of the 10 regions participating in the Council of Australian Governments' whole-of-government initiative for the provision of programs and services to Indigenous Australians. The theme for this trial is family violence.

    The trial site area is located in the northern region of Tasmania which includes Launceston, Deloraine, Northern Midlands, Bicheno and the Furneaux Islands Group.

    Seven Aboriginal community organisations as well as the Riawunna Centre for Aboriginal Education are located within the Northern District Region.
    Detailed Information:
    Information sessions were conducted across the trial site in October 2003 in order to inform Indigenous people of the COAG trials and to invite participation to work in partnership with governments. This process is continuing.

    Since that time, an interim government steering committee, comprising nine Federal and five State government agencies, has met regularly to discuss methods of working in a whole-of-government way in order to facilitate the trial. The committee is to undertake cultural and family violence awareness training. It will ensure that staff who work with Aboriginal people in the trial site also do this. The committee will also provide support to Indigenous people who have elected to be involved in the trial so that they feel comfortable about engaging in effective discussion with government.

    The Commonwealth Government Sponsor and Partner is Mr Bill Farmer, Secretary, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs. The Tasmanian State Government partner is the Tasmanian Department of Premier and Cabinet.

    Related Entries

  • ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Murdi Paaki Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Greater Shepparton Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement
  • Wadeye Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Lockhart River 'Empower the Community' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Hope Vale 'Partnership' Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Cape Barren Island 'Community Harmony Program' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Cape Barren Island 'Building the Community Wellbeing Centre' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Organisation
  • State of Tasmania
  • Commonwealth of Australia
  • Council of Australian Governments
  • Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (Cth)
  • Department of Premier and Cabinet (Tas)
  • Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (Cth)
  • Event
  • Council of Australian Governments' Communiqué
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Whole of Government Initiatives
  • Cape York COAG Trial
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands COAG Trial

  • References

    Media Release
    Former Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs Mr Ruddock (2003) Aboriginal People in Northern Region of Tasmania to Join COAG Trials
    Council of Australian Governments (2003) Tasmanian COAG Trial



    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey