Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Government of Saskatchewan

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Provincial/Territory Government (Canada)
State/Country:Saskatchewan, Canada
Summary Information:
Saskatewan is one of Canada's 10 provinces and is located in central Canada. It was established in 1905 and presently has a population of almost one million people. It is bordered by the Provinces of Manitoba (to the east) and Alberta (to the west). To the north lie the provinces of Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, while to the south lie the American States of North Dakota and Montana. The name derives from the Plains Indian word 'kisiskatchewan' which means swiftly flowing river. The Government of Saskatchewan is a democratic one based on the parliamentary system. It includes an elected Legislative Assembly and an appointed Lieutenant Governor who represents the Crown.

Related Entries

  • Metis Nation Accord 1992

  • Glossary

    Provincial/Territory Government (Canada)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey