Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Akaitcho Territory Government

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Canadian Aboriginal Government
State/Country:Northwest Territories, Canada
Summary Information:
The Akaitcho Territory Government (ATG) (formerly the Akaitcho Territory Tribal Council), is a regional government of the Northwest Territories. The First Nations which comprise the Akaitcho region are the Yellowknives Dene First Nation, Tthebathi, Deninu Kue, Salt River, Smith's Landing and Lutsel K'e. The ATG delivers advisory services with respect to First Nation governance, economics and financial management. It also promotes and facilitates the self-determination of the six Dene First Nations. Its objectives include the development of a model of governance which is reflective of the interests of the Dene First Nations. Its interests are also represented by the Aboriginal Summit which is a signatory party to the Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Framework Agreement 2004 and the accompanying Memorandum of Intent on Devolution and Resource Revenue Sharing 2001.

Related Entries

  • Akaitcho Interim Measures Agreement 2001
  • Akaitcho Treaty 8 Framework Agreement 2000
  • Akaitcho/Tlicho Overlap Agreement
  • Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Framework Agreement 2004
  • Memorandum of Intent on Devolution and Resources Revenue Sharing 2001
  • Organisation
  • Aboriginal Summit - Member
  • Yellowknives Dene First Nation
  • Lutsel K'e Dene Band
  • People
  • Akaitcho Territory Dene First Nations
  • Deninu Kue First Nation

  • References

    Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (1899) Treaty No 8


    Canadian Aboriginal Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey