Self-Government Agreement (Canada)
An agreement which recognises that the inherent right of self-government is an existing right under section 35 of the of the Constitution Act, 1982. It sets out the self-government arrangements and jurisdictional powers of First Nation Governments. Self-government agreements are often negotiated in conjunction with comprehensive land claims agreements.
Anishnaabe Government Agreement 7/12/2004
Anishnaabe Government Agreement First Nation Ratification Process7/12/2004
Carcross/Tagish First Nation Self-Government Agreement 22/10/2005
Champagne and Aishihik First Nation Self-Government Agreement29/05/1993
Deline Self-Government Agreement-in-Principle for the Sahtu Dene and Metis of Deline 200323/08/2003
First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Self-Government Agreement29/05/1993
Gwich'in and Inuvialuit Self-Government Agreement-In-Principle for the Beaufort-Delta Region1/01/2003
Gwich'in Self-Government Framework Agreement1/01/1992
Kluane First Nation Self-Government Agreement 200318/10/2003
Kluane First Nation Self-Government Agreement Implementation Plan 200318/10/2003
Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Self-Government Agreement21/07/1997
Negotiation Framework Agreement on the Amalgamation of Certain Institutions and the Creation of a New Form of Government in Nunavik 2003
Political Accord to Establish a Nunavik Commission for Self-Government 1999
Selkirk First Nation Self-Government Agreement21/07/1997
Ta'an Kwach'an Council Self-Government Agreement13/01/2002
Tlicho Land Claims and Self-Government Agreement25/08/2003
Tlicho Tax Treatment Agreement
Tr'ondek Hwech'in Self-Government Agreement16/07/1998
Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Self-Government Agreement29/05/1993
Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement 20033/10/2003

Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey