Law - Policy and Justice
Law, Policy and Justice agreements cover policies or practices relating to Indigenous people, in the application of state laws and legal system.
Chief Executive Officer (Housing) v Young & Anor [2022] NTCA 14/02/2022
The Engagement of Traditional Owners in the Economic Development of Northern Australia 31/01/2022
Yoo-rrook Justice Commission12/05/2021
Young and Conway v Chief Executive Officer, Housing [2020] NTSC 5930/09/2020
Lynch & Hagen (No 2) [2020] FamCA 7273/09/2020
Malone on behalf of the Western Kangoulu People v State of Queensland [2020] FCA 118819/08/2020
Binsaris v Northern Territory of Australia [2020] HCA 223/06/2020
Taungurung Settlement Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA)30/04/2020 
Widjabul Wia-Bal v Attorney General of New South Wales (2020) 376 ALR 20410/03/2020
Love v Commonwealth of Australia; Thoms v Commonwealth of Australia [2020] HCA 35/02/2020
First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria10/09/2019
Australian Securities and Investment Commission v Kobelt [2019] HCA 1812/06/2019
National Indigenous Australians Agency (NIAA)29/05/2019
Various Applicants from Santa Teresa v Chief Executive Officer (Housing) [2019] NTCAT 727/02/2019
Cemino v Cannan [2018] VSC 53517/09/2018
Advancing the Treaty Process with Aboriginal Victorians Act 2018 (Vic)1/08/2018
Buthera Agreement16/02/2018 
Aboriginal Languages Act 2017 (NSW)24/10/2017
Wotton v State of Queensland (No 5) [2016] FCA 14575/12/2016
Eatock v Bolt [2011] FCA 110328/09/2011
Constitution Amendment (Recognition of Aboriginal People) Act 2010 (NSW) 25/10/2010
Maralinga Tjarutja handback18/12/2009
Groote Eylandt Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) (Stage 2)10/11/2009 
Mutual Respect Agreement between the Yugul Mangi Elders and the Northern Territory Police29/06/2009 
Victorian Native Title Settlement Framework4/06/2009
Crown Land Management Act 2009 (SA)4/06/2009 
Groote Eylandt Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) (Stage 1)20/05/2008 
Steering Committee for the Development of a Victorian Native Title Settlement Framework18/03/2008
Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act 2006 (Vic)1/01/2008
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples13/09/2007
Northern Territory National Emergency Response Act 2007 (Cth)18/08/2007
The Northern Territory Emergency Response17/08/2007
Groote Eylandt Agreement-In-Principle for 99-year Leases7/08/2007
Trevorrow v State of South Australia (No 5) [2007] SASC 285 1/08/2007
St George Elders and Seniors Group 'Build Capacity' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)20/06/2007
Northampton 'Keeping on Track' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)28/05/2007
Yuelamu 'Safe Community' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)15/05/2007
Risk v Northern Territory of Australia [2007] FCAFC 465/04/2007
Inverell 'Youth Activity Centre' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)7/12/2006
Lheidli T'enneh Final Agreement 29/10/2006
Victorian Aboriginal Justice Agreement: Phase 21/06/2006
National Native Title Council1/01/2006
Kwanlin Dun First Nation Final Agreement 19/02/2005
Tennant Creek 'A Safer Community through Elders' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)1/01/2005
Constitution (Recognition of Aboriginal People) Act 2004 (Vic)9/11/2004
National Community Crime Prevention Program7/05/2004
Western Australian Aboriginal Justice Agreement31/03/2004
Kluane First Nation Self-Government Agreement 200318/10/2003
Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement 20033/10/2003
Deline Self-Government Agreement-in-Principle for the Sahtu Dene and Metis of Deline 200323/08/2003
First Nations Legal and Research Services (FNLRS)12/08/2003
Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement1/07/2003
The Gordon Inquiry31/07/2002
Partnering Agreement between the Government of South Australia and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission1/12/2001
Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Justice Agreement19/12/2000
Victorian Aboriginal Justice Agreement: Phase 11/01/2000
Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) decision on the Native Title Amendment Act 1998 (Cth) decision18/03/1999
Kartinyeri v Commonwealth (1998) 195 CLR 3371/04/1998
Framework Agreement between the Native Title Claimants, the Rubibi Working Group and the State of Western Australia1/01/1998
Australian Reconciliation Convention26/05/1997
Coe v Commonwealth [1993] HCA 417/08/1993
First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Self-Government Agreement29/05/1993
Umbrella Final Agreement between the Government of Canada, The Council for Yukon Indians and the Government of the Yukon29/05/1993
United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea10/12/1982
Coe v Commonwealth [1979] HCA 685/04/1979
The Aboriginal Tent Embassy26/01/1972
International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination 1966 (ICERD)4/01/1969
The Destruction of the Mapoon Mission15/11/1963
United Nations24/10/1945
Tuckiar v The King [1934] HCA 498/11/1934
Aborigines Act 1905 (WA)23/12/1905
Constitution Act 1902 (NSW)18/08/1902
Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth)12/07/1901
Australian Constitution1/01/1901
Macdonald v Levy [1833] NSWLeggeSC 18/06/1833
Oxfam International
Ashley Youth Detention Centre
Young Offenders Act 1994 (WA)
Aboriginal Community Supervision Agreement
Koori Justice Unit
Kenbi Land Trust Act 2011
Minister administering the Fisheries Management Act 1994 (NSW)
State Development and Public Works Organisation Act 1971 (Qld)
Attorney-General v Brown [1847] NSWLeggeSC 2
Aboriginal Justice Caucus
Burdekin Area Youth Watch
Australian Capital Territory Self-Government Act 1988 (Cth)
Empowered Communities
Attorney-General of the Commonwealth of Australia
Australian Black Panther Party
The Stolen Generations
Uluru Statement From the Heart 
Regional Aboriginal Justice Advisory Committees
Yirrkala Bark Petition Signatories
Victorian Aboriginal Affairs Framework 2018-2023
Oxfam Australia
Caledon Bay Crisis
Murdi Paaki 'Community Assistance Patrol' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
Victorian Aboriginal Justice Agreement: Phase 3
Mining (Gove Peninsula Nabalco Agreement) Act 1968 (Cth)
Harbours and Navigations Act 1993 (SA) 
Victorian Aboriginal Justice Agreement: Phase 4
National Congress of Australia's First Peoples Ltd
Local Aboriginal Justice Action Committees
Police Force of the Northern Territory
Hope Vale 'Partnership' Shared Responsibility Agreement
Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples 1996 (CANADA)
Environmental Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (Cth)
Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission
Cooper v Stuart (1889) 14 App Cas 286
Ngukurr community
North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA)
Aboriginal Heritage Act 2006 (Vic)
Conservation and Parks Commission Western Australia
Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (Cth)

Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey