printable versionPrint this page

Anangu Pitjantjatjara Land Transfer

Category: Event
Date: 30 October 1981
State/Country:South Australia, Australia
Subject Matter:Land Transaction | Recognition of Native Title or Traditional Ownership
Summary Information:
On 30 October 1981, about 102,650 square kilometres of land (or about 10.4% of the State of South Australia) was granted in freehold title to the Anangu Pitjantjatjara under the Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA). The Anangu Pitjantjatjara is a body corporate of which all Pitjantjatjara, Yankunytjatjara and Ngaanyatjarra people who are traditional owners of any part of the lands are members. The lands are located in the north-west of South Australia, and include land in the North-West Reserve and a number of pastoral leases. Communities on the lands include the Amata, Fregon, Indulkana, Mimili, Pipalyatjara, and Pukatja (Ernabella) peoples.

Related Entries

  • APY Lands Regional Partnership Agreement
  • Organisation
  • State of South Australia
  • Pitjantjatjara Council
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Management (APY)
  • Event
  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta Handback
  • Legislation
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 (SA)
  • People
  • Pitjantjatjara People
  • Yankunytjatjara People
  • Ngaanyatjarra People

  • Google
    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey